Student Awards Faculty & Staff Awards Alumni & Industry Awards


Each year, the College of Engineering recognizes its faculty, staff, and students who have surpassed all expectations and have made outstanding contributions to our academic community. We are pleased to honor the Spring, 2020 awardees for their accomplishments over the past academic year:

Outstanding Graduating Senior Awards

These awards honor exceptional undergraduate students in their final term (one per department).

Civil & Environmental Engineering – Rika Okino

Electrical Engineering – Nicholas Yama

Mechanical Engineering – Kayli Chun

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards

These awards honor exceptional graduate students in the following categories: Masters-level, teaching assistants, and PhD-level.

Outstanding Teaching Assistant

Yeon Sang You

Yeon Sang You, MS in EE

Mirza Uzair Baig, 2018

Outstanding PhD Student

Kareem Elassy

Kareem Elassy, PhD in EE

Arifur Rahman, 2018

Other Student Awards

Professor Bruce Liebert Award

In recognition of Dr. Liebert’s past contributions to materials education at the University of Hawaiʻi, this recognition is given to graduating seniors admitted to graduate school at the UH College of Engineering who demonstrate contributions of materials science and engineering to their projects and work as undergraduates at UH.


Kai Outlaw-Spruell

Kai Outlaw-Spruell, BS         in ME

Faculty & Staff Awards

Hi Chang Chai Faculty Awards

These awards honor exceptional faculty members from each department, as voted on by the students.

Ian Robertson

Ian Robertson-CEE

Aaron Ohta

Aaron Ohta-EE

Scott Miller

Scott Miller-ME

Roger Babcock, 2018
Galen Sasaki, 2018
Lloyd Hihara, 2018

Faculty Research Award

Aaron Ohta, 2011-12
Magdy Iskander, 2012-13
None for 2013-14
Lloyd Hihara, 2014-15
Yi Zuo, 2015-16
Sayed Bateni, 2016-17
Guohui Zhang, 2017-18
Anders Host-Madsen, 2018-19
Yi Zuo, 2019-20

Faculty Service Award

Carrie Matsuzaki, 2007-08
Galen Sasaki, 2008-09
Cheryl Ishii, 2009-10
Tep Dobry, 2010-11
Amarjit Singh, 2011-12
Peter Berkelman and Wayne Shiroma, 2012-13
Anthony Kuh, 2013-14
Vinod Malhotra, 2014-15
Scott Miller, 2015-16
Yingfei Dong, 2016-17
Roger Babcock, 2017-18
Wayne Shiroma, 2018-19
Jill Nakatsu, 2019-20

Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching

A. Zachary Trimble, 2018

ASCE Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award

Roger Babcock, 2018

Staff Service Award

Jean Imada, 2007-08
Lori Yuu, 2008-09
Danielle Wong, 2009-10
Sheree Hashimoto, 2010-11
Benjamin Respicio, 2011-12
Myhraliza Aala, 2012-13
Gail Yamamoto, 2013-14
Mitchell Pinkerton, 2014-15
Janis Kusatsu and Aaron Toyama, 2015-16
Jamie Wong, 2016-17
June Akers and Linda Uyeda, 2017-18
Justin Scott, 2018-19
Shayna Yee, 2019-20

Meritorious Service Award

Song Choi, 2016-17
Jean Imada, 2017-18

Alumni & Industry Awards

Dean’s Award of Excellence

This prestigious recognition. determined by the Dean, was first awarded in 2019 by the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa’s College of Engineering to honor an individual possessing strong moral character and a track record of excellence in the field of engineering. Additionally, the awardee must: have made significant contributions to the nation and/or state, earned a BS, MS or PhD from the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa College of Engineering, positively represent and promote the College of Engineering through exemplary work in the professional sphere, and demonstrate leadership in the community. An individual can receive this award only once.


Richard Sullivan

Richard Sullivan


Anurag Bist

Anurag Bist

Pradeep Sindhu

Pradeep Sindhu


Distinguished Alumni Award

This award recognizes an alumnus with an outstanding resume of professional accomplishments. The nominee must have achieved significant recognition for academic, scientific, or practical achievement and/or contribution in his/her chosen field of engineering, science, or business. With so many successful graduates in the field, it can often be a difficult selection process. An individual can receive this award only once.

2020 – Michael Matsumoto


John Arizumi

John Arizumi






2018 – Ken Kawahara and Russell Young
2017 – Rudy Mina
2016 – Brennon Morioka, PhD
2015 – Sheryl E. Nojima, PhD
2014 – Bernard P. Kea, Sr. and Stanford B.C. Yuen
2013 – Ken Hayashida and Glenn Nohara
2012 – Kazu Hayashida, Edward Y. Hirata, and Wallace S. Miyahira
2011 – Michael J. Chun, PhD
2010 – Bert Oyama
2009 – Brenda M. McCaffrey
2008 – Ronald N.S. Ho
2007 – Aaron Oki
2006 – Owen Miyamoto

Outstanding Service Award

This honor is given to an individual who has provided exemplary service to the College of Engineering. This service could come in any form, as long as the individual is helping the College to fulfill its mission. In contrast to the others, this awardee need not be an alumnus of the College, though he or she is someone who has demonstrated a high level of dedication to its cause. An individual can receive this award only once.


Nolan Tanaka

Nolan Tanaka







Neal Miyake

Neal Miyake

Sean Sugai

Sean Sugai






2018 – Jonathan Suzuki and Edward Yoshimura
2017 – John Katahira
2016 – Dennis Toba
2015 – Scott Seu
2014 – Major General Robert G.F. Lee (Retired)
2013 – Galen Ho
2012 – Dennis I. Hirota, PhD
2011 – Diane Kodama and Derek Mukai
2010 – Robert Akinaka
2009 – Russell Figueiroa
2008 – Reynold S. Kagiwada
2007 – Fujio Matsuda, PhD
2006 – Arthur Chiu, PhD