

### COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

UNIVERSITY of HAWAI'I at MĀNOA

**SPRING 2025** 

# CONVOCATION

HAWAI'I CONVENTION CENTER

MAY 16, 2025 5:30 PM

#### **PROGRAM**

(AUDIENCE, PLEASE RISE FOR PROCESSIONAL AND RECESSIONAL)

#### **WELCOME**

BRENNON MORIOKA
DEAN, UH COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

#### CONVOCATION ADDRESS

LORI KAHIKINA

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF THE HONOLULU AUTHORITY FOR RAPID TRANSPORTATION (HART)

#### RECOGNITION OF AWARDS

DR. HI CHANG CHAI AWARDEES
GRADUATE STUDENT AWARDEES
OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIORS

'ORDER OF THE ENGINEER' CEREMONY

#### RECOGNITION OF DEGREE CANDIDATES

CANDIDATES FOR GRADUATE DEGREES
CANDIDATES FOR BACHELOR OF SCIENCE DEGREES

#### ALUMNI GREETING

NOLAN TANAKA PRESIDENT, ENGINEERING ALUMNI ASSOCIATION OF UH

**CLOSING** 

## HI CHANG CHAI EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AWARD

CIVIL & ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING

DoSoo Moon

ELECTRICAL & COMPUTER ENGINEERING

Jeffrey Weldon

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

Joseph Brown

#### GRADUATE STUDENT AWARDS

OUTSTANDING TEACHING ASSISTANT AWARD **Dylan Sodetani** 

OUTSTANDING PHD STUDENT AWARD

Jannatun Noor Sameera

## OUTSTANDING GRADUATING SENIOR AWARDS

CIVIL & ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING

Travis Nitta

ELECTRICAL & COMPUTER ENGINEERING

Jordan Okumura

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
Scott Yang

#### DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY

CIVIL ENGINEERING **Mohamed A. Sherif** 

ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
Honggen Zhang

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
Viviana Mancuso
Anh Tuan Nguyen

#### MASTER OF SCIENCE

CIVIL ENGINEERING

Jason A. Henry

#### **ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING**

Spencer M. Kerkau Maxwell G. Pauly Matthew Sahara Dylan M. Sodetani

#### MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

Sapphira I. Akins Russell A. Laudone Kian L. Viernes

#### **BACHELOR OF SCIENCE**

CIVIL & ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING

Luke R.K. Arakaki
Joshua Santiago
Bartolome
Jacob R. Blaisdell
Caitlyn J. Bolosan
Clayton Capalad
Jason JS Chen
Lanson K. Chung

Mackenzy P.K. Corpuz Braeden Keanu G. Daquioag Scott Kaeo\* Cara E. de Leon Bradley D. Domingo Von Nicholo G. Escalona Donovan K. Fujii Malie S. Grace Melanie A. Habon
Noah K. Hanohano
Toan Huynh\*
Aaryk T. Iwamoto
Brayden Kamimura\*
Chase A. Kaseli
Amy Kimura\*
Nadia Levine
Steven J. Marliave
Julia K. McHerron
Kanoa Nii\*
Travis M. Nitta
Oliver A. Padamada

Allen Julius E. Palma
Jared Pasalo
Almard Vinoya Pasion
He Shi
Grace Shaden Tanuvasa
Reynel J. Tinaza
Sherwyn M. Tolentino
Kylie M. Trang
Eric Ventura
Kailah Reign C. Vergara
John Mark Villanueva
Joseph M. Vinch
Jayden Young

#### CONSTRUCTION ENGINEERING

Jonah K. Gilliland Shane Hendricks David A. Hernandez Jaden A. Mintz Jason T. Nguyen Jerry L. Willis

#### COMPUTER ENGINEERING

Joshua H. Asuncion Alexander T. Chang Amanda Z. Eckardt Kai Matsusaka Cristian J. Milanes Joshua K. Samonte Byron G. Soriano Chansen A. Tano

#### **ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING**

Joshua A. Alferos
Nicolas Atkins
Alexander Baker\*
Alena R. Bolosan
Milan Aron Bukovics
Nathaniel Gideon G. Castro
Holden Q. Ecker
Jared I. Gungap
Gordon N. Ho
Jonah Kaye
Gian Carlo Langaman
Tiffany Loe\*

Joy H. Miyazaki
Timothy J. Myers
Samantha K. Nakahira
Claire L. H. Narimasu
Jordan R. M. Okumura
Kaniela Kawailani Pang
Nicole Pham
Emilina Sassone
Jharrell B. Sim
Jacob Daniel P. Tacadena
Elizabeth M. Talioaga

#### MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

Andrew M. Alvarado Andrew K. Araki Justin D. Atento Kassity K. Balgas Ryan D. Beattie John Bega\* Catarina B. Beiarano Kolton H. Burch Shane M. Cachola Wei Jie Cao Kaala I. Deitch Victor Phillip Erese Adam Cano Farin Andrew-Jan C. Florendo Andrew M. Gibbons Laura Hostetler Camryn L. Jamila Jason M. Kanemoto Ryan M. Kawabata Aadil Kher Hwa-Jin P. Kwak Qi En A. Lam Wilson W. Lau Duy A. Le

Regina Lee Abiaail C. V. Macalintal Simone A. K. Mansfield Karl E. Merritt Crumel C. Mooring Tyler M. Ng lan Ogata Skyler A. Padamada Kirsten M. Peterson Ethan J. Rocheville Sheldon S. Saito Len T. Silva Naava L. Simckes Rienzmel N. Tolentino Curran Uno F. Uno Fa'alepo Unutoa\* Nolan A. Williams Orion J. Winter Tysen M. Yahiku Scott H. Yang Koa B. Yasui Micah J. Zeller

#### SPEAKER'S BIO

**Lori Kahikina** is the Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation (HART). Ms. Kahikina is a proud graduate of Kamehameha Schools and the University of Hawaii. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering and has a license in Civil Engineering.

At HART, Ms. Kahikina is responsible for the design and construction of the remaining portion of the 20-mile, 21 station Honolulu Rail Transit Project that spans from East Kapolei to Ala Moana Center. The project is currently estimated at over \$10 billion.

**Nolan Tanaka** is a Vehicle Integration Manager at Northrop Grumman Space Systems, overseeing electrical integration for 68 satellites valued at over \$1.5B. An Air Force veteran, he has worked on diverse space programs throughout his career.

Tanaka holds a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa, earned through the Air Force ROTC program, and completed leadership and project management programs at USC and Caltech.

His accolades include the UH Mānoa College of Engineering's Outstanding Service Award, a NASA Group Award, and a Goddard Spaceflight Center's Teamwork Award.

A Leilehua High School alumnus born in Honolulu, Tanaka serves on UH Mānoa's College of Engineering Dean's Council and Electrical Engineering Industrial Advisory Board, and leads the Southern California UH Engineering Alumni 'Ohana. He co-chairs Northrop Grumman's veterans employee resource group, leads university engagement, and enjoys basketball, softball, golf, and attending Lakers and UH football games.



USHERING AND LOGISTICS BY ADMINISTRATION, STAFF & ALUMNI OF THE COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING AND THE STAFF OF THE HAWAI'I CONVENTION CENTER



COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING
UNIVERSITY OF HAWAI'I AT MĀNOA
2540 DOLE STREET, HOLMES 240
HONOLULU, HI 96822

(808) 956-7727 www.eng.hawaii.edu